What do you want me to do for you?

What do you want me to do for you? (Mark 10:51)

“Let me beseech you to go home to your room, and there, kneeling by your bedside, by faith picture the Saviour saying to you, ‘What do you want me to do for you?’ Fall on your knees, and without hesitation tell him all, tell him you are guilty, and you desire that he would pardon you. Confess your sins; keep none of them back. Say, ‘Lord, I implore you pardon my drunkenness, my profanity, or whatever it may be that you have been guilty of,’ and then still imagine you hear him saying, ‘What do you want me to do for you?’ Tell him, ‘Lord, I would be kept from all those sins in the future. I shall not be content with being pardoned. I want to be renewed.’ Tell him you have a hard heart, and ask him to soften it. Tell him you have blind eyes and that you can’t see your interest in Christ. Ask him to open your heart; confess before him you are full of iniquity and prone to wander; ask him to take your heart and wash it, and then set it on things above, and prevent it from being fond of the things of the earth any longer. Tell it out plainly, make a frank and full confession in his presence; and what if it should happen, my dear hearer, that at this very day, while you are in your room, Christ should give thee a touch of grace, put your sins away, save your soul, and give you the joy to know that you are a now a child of God, and now an heir of heaven. Imitate the blind man in the explicitness and straightforwardness of his confession and his request – ‘Rabbi, I want to see.’”

Spurgeon

Leave a Reply

